titles are hard

E, who is my man and the father of my small blond sons, hovered at my shoulder and said, “You’re working on the sequel?”

“Editing and obsessing,” I said. “Obsessing and editing.”

“Does it have a title yet?”

“It does not.” One friend suggested a very good title, except now that I see the book as a whole, I can see how that title doesn’t quite fit. I added, “And my Simon & Schuster editor wants me to change the title for that book as well. So now I need two of the suckers. Dammit.”

“You mean…STRANGER?” This is my teen supernatural thriller coming out from S&S/MTV Books in fall 2007. E spoke the title (what used to be the title) with a French accent. I have no idea why.

“Yes.”

He was quiet a moment.

Then suggested, “Why don’t you call it…ACQUAINTANCE?”

“You,” I said darkly, “are not helping.”

Leave a comment

Filed under odds & ends

Leave a Reply

