save the world and stuff

Sickly. Sleep-deprived. Kids. Deadline. ‘Nuff said.

So I am stealing today’s blog entry from a gossip blog commenting on this year’s winner of the Nobel Peace Prize because how often do you get to write ‘gossip blog’ and ‘Nobel Peace Prize’ in the same sentence?

Plus I’m really glad this guy won for the reason he won. Not to mention the arc of his career from six years ago to now is inspiring in itself:

Congratulations to Al Gore for winning the Nobel Peace Prize! Damn, that’s a big accomplishment. This is not the same thing as winning “Best Lesbian Kiss” at the MTV Movie Awards. This is important! Because of….peace…and all that…stuff.

Al Gore, the former U.S. vice president and presidential candidate who reinvented himself as an environmentalist*, won the Nobel Peace Prize on Friday for his efforts to fight global warming.
Gore shares the prize with the U.N.’s Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.

“I am deeply honored to receive the Nobel Peace Prize,” Gore said in an e-mailed statement. “We face a true planetary emergency. The climate crisis is not a political issue, it is a moral and spiritual challenge to all of humanity.”

Al gets a gold medal, a diploma and splits around 1.7 million with the UN’s Intergovermental Panel On Climate Change (IPCC). I hope they throw a major kegger. I like Al Gore. He seemed very stiff as the Veep but now he seems like he might drink while he figures out how to stop our planet from imploding. Plus, he ignored Lindsay Lohan’s attempts to contact him drunkenly on her Blackberry. I like that in an environmental crusader.

*From what I understand he was always an environmentalist, but whatever.

**What is this fixation on whether or not a presidential candidate would be a good guy to go have a beer with? I can think of lots of people I love to have a beer with. I don’t particularly want any of them running the country. Or my house, for that matter. (Hell, I can barely run my house. But I am a fabulous person to kill a bottle of wine with, if I do say so myself.)

Perhaps I’m just not in the right social circles.

Leave a comment

Filed under odds & ends

Leave a Reply

